Visiting “The Fountain of Youth” in Bad Urach, Germany


At the end of the 2 weeks of teaching in Bad Urach, the girls and I decided to check out the thermal pools that the town was known for. The “Alb Therman” is natural thermal mineral water/hot springs that are used for medicinal and/or health purposes. 

The natural thermal-mineral water rises up from 770 meters (2526.25 feet) depth straight into our pool. A bath in pure spring water – a daily output of 1 million liters(264 172.05 gallons) ensures continuous renewal of the 32°C(90F) to 38°C(100F) hot water. (information found on their website…I could never remember that)

View of outside pool

View of outside of building

Sign at entrance (plunge,relax,recover)

As you walk in the door you can instantly smell the warm water in the air. It smells pure, and fresh. There is a fountain at the door that you are supposed to be able to drink from because it is so pure…but the water is warm…and the thought of it grossed me out.

water fountain at entrance

Many people come to these hot springs in order to relax, but some come to treat conditions such as:

  • Chronic inflammatory and degenerative joint disease
  • Diseases of the spine and back muscles
  • Accident treatment and rehabilitation after joint surgery
  • Vegetative dystonia and prophylaxis vegetative irritable disorders
  • Cardiac, vascular and circulatory diseases
  • Neurological diseases

I found these conditions listed on the spa website: http://www.albthermen.de/html/the_thermae.html 

There are massage areas, saunas, indoor pools, outdoor pools, hot tubs, relaxation rooms, etc. I remember one of the rooms had really low lighting and smelled of lavender steam.

An interesting fact is that these pools also offer nude bathing, and ‘romantic evenings’.

They also had a snack bar with delicious latte macchiatos

Monika enjoying a delicious latte at the cafe

The water was definitely refreshing, and it was a relaxing and at times interesting experience. If you have never been to thermal springs before I would definitely recommend you give it a try.

 

Price list and Area map

As with many things that you can enjoy and experience in life and travel the hot springs are worth the visit. The discoveries are endless…..

 

 

 

 

 

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

