Be a Monkey in the trees for an afternoon


While teaching English at summer camps in Germany we were able to go on excursions with the kids as well. One of the most exciting things I did while in Germany was take the students to the “Abenteuer” or Adventure Park by the castle Lichtenstein in Germany. We just took a 30 minute bus ride to the climbing/high ropes adventure park, and then we toured the castle adjacent to it.

Abenteuer Park

Their current website prices for 3 hours are:

  • for adults: € 20, –
  • for teenagers (16 – and 17-year old) and adults following **: Students Zivis, conscripts, FSJler, trainees: € 18, –
  • * for children (8-15-year): € 15, –

* Please note: children under 14 can only climb in direct support of an adult. Here, an adult may supervise up to two children.

The park has 9 course that take between 30-60 minutes for each one. You would need an entire day…and tons of energy to do them all. They vary in levels of difficulty.  Before you start they give you a quick safety training on the equipment…tips and warnings. You are required to wear a bandanna and a helmet.

Fellow Teacher and I wearing the bandanna's

Me and the other two teachers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also had to wear the obvious climbing gear.

Ready to climb!

The kids were all excited too!

The kids before the climb

Here are some pictures of the course:

Course Picture 1

Course Picture 2

Course Picture 3

This course was so challenging and amazing. The next day muscles hurt that I didn’t even know I had!

The high ropes was crazy cool. “Accidentally” started at level 6 of 9 and at times I was so scared I almost cried..but no backing down can only go forward. It was so fun. The best part was I think the Tarzan rope toward the end. I was so afraid to do it, because you had to have a great deal of strength to grab the net with your legs and arms. If you didn’t catch the net…you would swing back and forth and then have to reel yourself in. I caught it…a bit painfully on the first attempt. Jumping off of the platform at the top was a bit like jumping into a pool that you know is freezing! It was so scary! I know that I was protected by ropes, but you are very high up and you always think about the equipment malfunctioning. It was such a thrill when it all went well! There was some other scary parts as well, but if you ever were afraid to continue they had a rescue ladder. 🙂 The experience was wonderful. I felt stronger, and more confidant, and it was a great activity with all of the kids.

Oh, and I got “hit” by a bus..haha…our bus driver started rolling (I think to clear the door of trees) right when I walked in front..and he bumped me! No injuries from that. I was just sore from climbing and had a rope burn and a few scratches from ziplining into things. 🙂 Not without its ‘dangers’. 🙂

Overall, it was a spectacular day.

If you are ever in Germany about 30 minutes outside of Bad Urach…follow this sign to the Adventure Park! I’m sure you will continue to find endless discoveries….

Road Sign

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

