Dogs and Germany


Pets are great companions to have around. People have pets of all kinds around the world. In many households pets are considered part of the family. During my travels I’ve noticed pets, mainly dogs, traveling with people all over Europe. I’ve seen dogs on trains and buses, and on bikes. I even saw a man on a bicycle…with a horse on a leash..that was odd!

While living in Germany,  my family I visited there had a dog. She is a lab and is definitely part of the family. She goes on the daily walks with the children, always loves to ride in the car, and rarely is left alone at the house. It was nice to have her around, because I really missed my cat I had to leave back home.

"Nanny" Sally

Competing for a banana

Sally in the car

She is welcome in many of the places that the family travels.  I’ve seen them in plenty of cars, and even in bike baskets. It’s common to see them running beside bikes as well. Families often take them with them on their family outings and hikes.

The pets in Germany are allowed in many places. Dogs can even go inside many restaurants and businesses. I was surprised even in fine dining restaurants to see dogs under the table.

A friends dog hanging out with us in the garden area of a restaurant. It's not the best shot.

Dogs are even allowed in many restaurants. Here we were at a little hotel restaurant in a cross-country ski area.

Daily walks as a family in all sorts of weather

Sally hanging with the boys by the river

Dog stations are on many trails. You're expected to pick up after your dog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dogs are of course still used for police work as well. They used to use the German Shepard, but are now switching to another breed. The Belgian Shepherd.

Illegal Drug Police Dog

 

 

 

 

 

Some other facts about dogs in Germany:

1. Dogs must be licensed. There is a yearly ‘dog tax’.

2. Dogs can enter many places(movie theaters, restaurants, hotels, trains), but not where fresh food is sold or if there is a sign that reads: Wir müssen leider daraussen warten (unfortunately, we must wait outside).

3. On the train you must buy a ticket for half the fare price for the dog unless it’s a small dog.

4.  Germany as some of the strictest dangerous dog laws (dangerous dogs are Staffordshire bullterriers, American Staffordshire terriers, pit bull terriers, and other dogs descended from one of these types of dogs.) If you would like to own one of these dogs, you must be at least 18 years old and personally qualified.

5. Dogs must be micro-chipped for identification, and have regular vaccinations.

It’s definitely difficult to leave a pet at home when you’re away, but traveling with them at times can be difficult. It’s nice that many places are starting to offer special accommodations for people who enjoy traveling with “all” members of their family.

Are there any interesting experiences you have had while traveling with your pets?

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Europe, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dogs and Germany

  1. Hilary says:

    I like the fact that there are limitations on ‘dangerous dog breeds’ it protects the dogs really by making sure their owner is capable of taking care of them.

  2. I agree…that way no idiots can cause issues with them as well.

Leave a Reply

