You’re drinking what?


Ever since I’ve come back to the States, I’ve been bad… very bad. I had made a conscious effort to improve my diet, and to try to cut out processed foods, and sugars…and soda! I was doing so very well. I had stopped drinking soda for quite a while. I had switched to unsweetened tea, and it was mostly green tea. There has been so much hype over High Fructose Corn Syrup in the past few years and it’s effect on your health. I chose to try to avoid whenever possible…no matter what the truth behind it all was. Personally, I believe that regular sugar (in moderation) must be better for you than all of these chemical sweeteners and substitutes.

One thing that I really liked about Europe (and many other countries in the world that are NOT the US) is the lack of HFCS in soda. Even though it’s still not good for you, at least they use regular sugar. I allowed this realization to let me slip back into enjoying the occasional soda, which has since followed me back to the States.  In realizing this today it made me think about the different drinks people commonly ordered in Germany when we went out (besides beer…but even then)…

Are you familiar with any of these?:

1. Apfel Schorle (apple spritzer) : Apple juice mixed with sparkling water. Quite common for people to order when they go out or mix themselves at home.

Apple Spritzer

2.Orange Schorle (orange spritzer) : Orange juice mixed with sparkling water. (They would just  use pretty much any juice, but these were the most popular.

Orange Spritzer

3. Sparkling Water (classic,medium): Sparkling water is pretty much the most common drink that I have seen in Europe. When you go out to a restaurant and order water you are automatically served sparkling water. It’s not free, of course. If you want the ‘normal’ water you have to ask for free water or water without ‘gas’.  The tap water is free. My experience has been that the majority of Europeans cannot stand ‘flat’ water. Sparkling water is something that definitely grew on me over time.

Medium water (less bubbles)

4.  Spezi (orange soda mixed with coke): I noticed this a lot. Orange soda (Fanta) mixed with cola.

Orange soda mixed with coke

5. Coke Products– Coke products are pretty big in Germany. Europe in general as well. I remember we were driving from Northern Germany to Southern Germany and passed a convoy of trucks…at least 9 of them in a row… Coke trucks! It was crazy. They sell Coke in the grocery stores and all the usual places and it can either be reasonably priced…or over-priced. If you get it at a fast food restaurant such as McDonald’s or Burger King it is usually served without ice. That is something I had to get used to as well. Don’t expect giant cups either. Their large is our medium. They mix Coke with just about anything it seems.

6.Mixed Beers There are some beer beverages that are a bit unusual.

Radler- Beer mixed with lemonade

Diesel-  Pilsner beer mixed with Coke.

These are just a few of the ‘unusual’ combinations that I came across. Have you come across any unusual popular drinks?

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Beer, Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

