The Best Things to Do in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic- Part Two


The Dominican Republic is full of beautiful sights and culture. In part one I pointed out that if you are in Puerto Plata you must go to Ocean World! It is fun for the whole family, beautiful, and educational. Another thing that you must do in Puerto Plata is:

Snorkel!!

We booked an excursion that was available through our resort. They provided transportation to the town of Sosua, the snorkeling equipment, and the boat. Half of the fun of the excursion was getting there! We were able to travel with a fun group of people from some of the local resorts and watch all of the crazy drivers along the way. I should talk about that in a later blog.

We were picked up from our resort and driven about 15 minutes away to Playa Sosua.

Welcome to the local beach!

There we were able to enjoy the sights and sounds of the local beach. While I don’t think that Sosua was the prettiest beach that I have seen it was full of local flair. There were plenty of shops lining the beach with over-priced souvenirs and crafts that you could easy use your skills to bargain down. There were also some local food stands including delicious, ripe fresh fruit and freshly caught seafood. I remember a young boy was coming around selling giant pink shrimp.

Fruit Shack at the beach

We were taken out in the boat to a beautiful coral reef. The crystal blue water made it very easy to take in the beauty of the colorful fish and underwater gardens. It was amazing! The locals at the resort had recommended that we take some bread with us to feed the fish. They swarmed all around us trying to get to the bread. The only thing that I can tell you right now is to invest in a good underwater camera. The main thing missing from this entry are the gorgeous pictures that you deserve and need to see!! I only have a few shots of the beach area.

Sit and enjoy local flavor

Walk the Beach

Relax

The ocean is calling!

I can say that snorkeling in the Caribbean is a beautiful thing. It’s a view into an amazing world that everyone must see. I think that if you have a chance to come to Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic you should definitely jump at the opportunity to enjoy not only the glory of the city around you, but also the world hidden beneath the waves. I think that you will find in your journey to Puerto Plata that the discoveries are endless.

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Things to Do in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic- Part Two

  1. Linda Griggs says:

    Yes, Travel agent for a career choice, but also .. You should be writing Travel brochures and such for these different places!!! You are an awesome writer, you make these places come alive for us! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

