Embarrassing Airport Experience


Chalk it up to experience I suppose, but embarrassing moments and situations at the time may be far from laughable. Later, however, they can provide a lesson learned, a chuckle and a story to share.

On one of my trips to the States from Germany I was flying out of Stuttgart airport.In the morning when I woke up I was rushing to pack up the final items in my suitcase. I had quite a few bags because I wasn’t sure if I was moving home or if I was remaining in Germany. In my rush to finalize my bags, after my shower, I threw my razor into one of the zippered pockets. Stupid, I know.

Later, I was searching everywhere for where I threw the necklace I wanted to wear that day. I quickly searched through my bags and instinctively ran my hand inside the zippered pouch feeling for the necklace. I didn’t find my necklace, but I did find the blade of my razor! I had sliced a tiny little slit in the top of my middle finger. You would not believe how much it bled! I ran to the restroom and wrapped my finger in toilet paper that instantly turned red. I tried to clean up my mess, so that I wouldn’t leave my family with it after I was gone. I was trying to hurry because we had an hour drive to the airport and I had to be at the airport 3 hours early and it was getting close to time to go to make it on time.

I managed to get my bags together with my wrapped finger and get them upstairs. I went into the kitchen and my cousin worked to find some ice for my finger and look for the first aid kit. I had rummaged through my bag and found mine and between the two of us we looked for a solution. It just kept bleeding and bleeding. Even after being on ice non-stop for over 15 minutes. We wrapped it in gauze bandages and decided to find a drugstore along the way.

When we arrived at the airport and I had checked in we went to look for the airport doctor. Unfortunately, the doctor was closed. We went to the airport pharmacy or “Apotheke”. We explained to the lady what had happened and she said she would call for help. She made the call and explained in German on the phone that I had cut my finger and it was wrapped, but we needed another solution. At this point I was very embarrassed that I had stupidly cut my finger, and it was this big of a deal. We stood in the pharmacy and I kept waiting to see someone walking in to look at my finger. I was only concerned that it was properly wrapped so that I could fly in the next hour or so.

A few moments later we heard sirens. Yes, sirens. I look through the glass airport windows and see a police car and an ambulance, and a fire truck swiftly drive by. I glanced over at the lady behind the counter and she said “yes, that’s for”. I was mortified. I think I was probably turning four different shades of red. Within minutes there were 3 men walking toward me. There were two paramedics and another guy. They directed me to a bench and we explained the situation. After looking at my finger they had decided they wanted to take me to the hospital for stitches, but this wouldn’t have worked because of my impending flight. They cleaned and wrapped it once again and said to check in London during my layover if it needed any further attention. There was a danger of it bleeding continuously in the air.

Within about 10 minutes this ordeal was over and the firemen were leaving me sitting stunned an embarrassed. All of this over one tiny finger? My first thought was: “oh my goodness how much is THIS going to cost me?”. To my relief and my surprise this visit cost me absolutely nothing. It’s common airport practice even though the actual incident occurred at home. I keep wondering if this would’ve ever happened in the states like this. All I know is that it left me with a story to tell and another crazy embarrassing moment in Germany.

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Embarrassing Moments, Europe, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

