The most amazing pizza in the world


That statement is obviously very volatile. So many people love pizza, and everyone has their own personal favorite. Many people think New York pizza is the best in the world. They say “it’s in the water”. There are also those who stand firmly behind Chicago. Chicago deep dish pizza absolutely must be the BEST pizza in the world, right??? Well, I know it’s mainly a matter of  personal opinion.

The other day I was at one of our local pizza shops.Actually, I have had pizza twice this week. On Thursday, I had pizza at Round Table. They have a buffet which is pretty amazing for the price. All you can eat salad, and pizza for around 8 or 9.00.

On Wednesday night, I went with my brother to a local pizza restaurant. Farm Star is brand new to our town. It’s slogan is “Where the Farmer is the star”. It’s whole business model is that it offers fresh local ingredients. It is following the farm to table philosophy. Their pizza is definitely tasty. We had a Sausage Padrone Pizza( carmelized onions,roasted garlic, corn, padrone peppers, cilantro, and homemade pork sausage on top of a red sauce and mozzarella cheese base)  and a Nanny Goat Pizza (bacon (mmm), goat cheese, roasted garlic, leeks, and scallions). Sooooo Good!! So, I’ve had amazing pizza…. is it the best in the world?? NO!! 

Drum roll please…..(lol, it seemed appropriate)

It’s no secret that Italy has the best pizza. While in Germany, we often ordered from local pizza restaurants. Some of them were Italian owned, and they were the best.  In Germany the only delivery that was really available was either Chinese or Italian. Some of the delivery restaurants even had a mixed menu of both. I thought it was crazy, but convenient. It was also quite affordable. The menu was generally under 12 euros.

Despite the fact it was wonderful we had Italian pizza available in Germany, and often from actual Italians….it was just never as good as in Rome!

When in Rome I had some amazing pizza. I must say that pizza is prolific, and not all the same. I would personally avoid anything sold in the subway system! They have shops inside the underground system, and I would say it was comparable to eating pizza at the local mall or children’s center.

There are delicious restaurants and shops around the major attractions such as the Pantheon. I had a pizza near the pantheon. It was actually down a little alley not too far from it. Obviously, the closer you are to the major attractions the more inflated the price. We chose a little restaurant not too far from the Pantheon. There was a little alleyway and an adorable outdoor bistro. They were running a special for a salad, pizza, and a glass of wine for only 8 euros!! We just walked around and read the specials until we found the one we wanted. I would say a good rule of thumb is to look for the places where the most people are. Generally, if the crowds are flocking to a certain spot…it’s good. The pizza was amazing. I love the fact that when you order a pizza it is the size of about an American medium and runs around 4 or 5 euros depending on the toppings you choose. This pizza often supplies enough for two meals and is the most amazing pizza I have ever had!

If you ask a child they will often say their favorite food is: Pizza! I would say that Italy brings the child in us out. You can find the perfect pizza that you love for a price that you can afford. Even though everyone rants and raves about Italian pizza and the topic is often cliché and overdone.. the fact remains the same: Italian pizza is the best. It is the cheapest, the biggest, the tastiest, and the most affordable pizza in the world. Not to mention, that if you’re enjoying a fresh, tasty, and original Italian pizza.. you are often IN Italy. 🙂 What could possibly be bad about that?

Where is your favorite pizza located?

I think that if you continue to follow your culinary palate around the world you will find that the delicious discoveries are endless!

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Europe, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The most amazing pizza in the world

  1. AMEW says:

    Now I want to go to Rome for the pizza. 😛

  2. Sarah says:

    The one with tomatoes looks good

  3. They always use the best fresh ingredients! The tomatoes are good, and I don’t even like tomatoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

