Home Brew


Beer Culture. It’s something very special to many people. A German saying declares: “Bei Bier und Wein, gedeiht da Jaegerlatein.” This translates: “With beer and wine, storytelling flourishes”. Beer brewing has over the centuries brought people together. Tonight, I had the privilege of joining the local Cohasset Brew Club. It’s a much smaller version in comparison to the Chico Brew club, but personally I prefer that.

A few of the local beer brewers meet once a month on Tuesdays and share their beer talents. I was able to taste a variety of different homemade brews as well as some bottled picks from some of the members.

These brewers take their beers seriously, but when they get together the fun never ends. We enjoyed such beers as: Barley, Strong Scotch Ale, a Lemon Blossom Blond(yum), an Apricot Mulled Ale, and Habañero Orange Peel Tangerine Wheat, an Anise Smoked Porter, and a Blonde Ale. Both of the latter beers were brewed by my brother.

Beer and wine making are something my family enjoys. My uncle is the winemaker for  the Fieldbrook Winery, and both my brother and father brew their own beer. Beer and wine culture have throughout the years been an important part of the world. Many countries are known for their particular specialties. France and Italy are often known for their wine, Germany for its beer, and Ireland for its whiskey. I made it a point to try the different specialties as I traveled to the various countries. 🙂 I will try to mention them in their individual city blogs.

As we all know beer and wine bring people together. Home-brewed or store-bought once uncorked the fun begins. So, make it a point as you visit various countries, cities, or states to try the local brew. I think you will find that the discoveries are endless.

Cheers! Prost! Zum Wohl! 

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Beer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

